Where have I been for 23 days?

26 Mar

Wow, it doesn’t seem like its been 3 weeks since I posted last.

I’ll be honest – I’ve been really busy with a project for work, and every time I thought about writing, I was too lazy. I was also kinda miserable about this food thing. You know how I said it wasn’t that hard. Well it wasn’t, but I really wasn’t enjoying life for a couple weeks there. Don’t get me wrong, I was still eating Paleo most of the time (except for my stomach bug days – there’s nothing paleo that makes your gut feel better witha stomach bug), but I was pretty grumpy. See, I love food. No really, I LOVE to eat. All kinds of things. I try to live by the 90% rule – Good food choices, 90% of the time. So, by weeks three and four, I was really missing that 10%. Like Sean’s blue cheese augratin potatoes, and greek yogurt, and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich every now and then.

To make matter worse, I really didn’t feel like I was suddenly crushing WODs on a daily basis. There’s other factors at play here too – like I went from 3x/week to 4 or 5 at the same time the challenge started, and I was down and out for 2 1/2 days with a stomach bug in week 3, so it was hard to tell whether those were causing me to feel more tired, or whether it was the diet.

Alas, I plodded through, and sucked it up. Determined not to quit, I made the best of it, although in the back of my head I wasn’t sure how much longer I could take it, and each day that passed I just wished it was over. Considering this whole challenge is really an attempt to get people to change their lifestyle, not a 6-week crash diet, that was a little discouraging.

This week I feel better. Lots better. Maybe it was the little “checkpoint” I talked myself into half way through Week 4. Lets just say – this shit works, and I got just the motivation I needed to stay strong the last couple weeks. Now, my whopping two followers already know about where I am at – but I’ll leave the rest of you in suspense until the very end.

So this morning’s WOD was very encouraging. First, there was some skill work that included unbroken sets of pull-ups and hand-stand push-ups. I’m knocking out 12 pullups and 8 HSPU with limited ROM (2 ab mats) through 3 sets, which is a significant improvement from 5 weeks ago when I could barely do 5 HSPU with 3 ab mats.  The metcon was KB swings (70#) and DU’s in a descending ladder (30/25/20/15/10/5). I don’t have DUs yet (so I had to do 4x SUs), but my KB swings are rockin, and I did the first 2o unbroken. I probably could have done the whole 30, but I didn’t want to crush myself. I stayed with 20 UB through the first 3 rounds and then did the remaining rounds UB as well. I didn’t finish within my 10 minute goal, but at 11:38 I was ok with my time – with doing 4x SUs 10 minutes was probably unrealistic. I’ve gotta get those DUs – I’ve been slacking. Starting Sunday – watch out. I’m gonna get ’em.

So, then I decide to do a little cluster practice. Warm-up for Saturday. I had it set in my head that they were 135# clusters. I warmed up with some lighter weight, loaded the bar to 135# and tried to do a squat clean, leaned back too much, failed and fell on my ass. I knocked out a half dozen clusters at 135# and wanted to cry. They felt so much harder than before. I was discouraged and a little defeated. Well, it turns out, after reviewing my blog, that the clusters are only 115#. So – I feel better now.

I was reading Meg’s blog, and she says “your mind will quit on you 100 times before your body will”. I hope she’s right – because I’ve made up my mind, and I’m pushing this body.

One Response to “Where have I been for 23 days?”

  1. Grenade Tosser March 26, 2013 at 19:33 #

    Mmmmmmmmm…….blue cheese potatoes. Buffalo Chicken Mac and Cheese Sunday WOOOOOOHOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

