Oh Balls….

20 Feb

Posting this now is pretty much a dead giveaway that I’m losing my 8-hours of sleep point for today. I can’t remember the last time I got 8 hours of sleep in the firehouse.

Today was a good food day in the firehouse. Surprisingly no-one tried to jam shit I’m not supposed to eat down my throat, because in the past, this has been a HUGE problem. I mean, how many times to you have to say no to get them to stop holding you down and feeding you shitty food?

Seriously though, the guys I work with are great. They all ate my paleo food today. What isn’t clear yet is how much of this was motivated by their desire to support me, and how much was motivated by the fact that I was cooking dinner and they didn’t have to. Woody ate meatloaf – which he doesn’t do. Danny ate sweet potatoes – which he doesn’t normally like. Rob refused to eat the onions or peppers, so I had to make him his own “special” meatloaf. Ok, so 2 out of 3 isnt bad. Brandon and Ewa ate with us – but they’re in the challenge – so no extra props for them.

Oh…. Balls! Ewa brought Paleo balls. They were a mouthful of delicious chocolate-y, espresso-y, coconutty goodness. Wait, did I just say I had a mouthfull of balls? <Inside Joke>It runs in the family</Inside Joke> Nevermind. They were really good. You should ask her for the recipe.

So, here’s the upshot on the food people, which has to be the only reason anyone would read this…Paleo Meatloaf

  1. Roasted Asparagus: Super easy and delicious. Lay the asparagus spears out flat on a cookie sheet, drizzle with 2 tbsp melted coconut oil, sprinkle with Emeril’s Essence. Shake the cookie sheet back and forth to coat the spears.  Roast at 400 until the stalks are just softened (but not mushy). About 8 mins, but this can vary base on the size of the stalks.
  2. Roasted Rosemary & Garlic Sweet Potatoes: WOW!  These we a hit with everyone, including Danny and I, who are normally not big fans of sweet potatoes. Peel and dice 3 sweet potatoes into roughly 3/4″ squares. Don’t get your tape measure out – just wing it. Place into a bowl. Melt 2 tbsp of coconut oil in the microwave and pour over the potatoes. Add a couple teaspoons of miced garlic. I buy mine minced because I am lazy. Add 4 or 5 springs of fresh rosemary, removed from the twigs (duh) and coursely chopped. I added a little basil as well. Toss the potatoes to coat, place in a single layer on a cooke sheet, and bake until cooked through. About 30-45 minutes at 350 degrees.
  3. The Meatloaf: So, I tried to do a bacon-wrapped paleo meatloaf. It was good, but it could have been great. Here’s what I did: I mixed 1lb turkey, 2 lbs lean ground beef, 1 green pepper (finely chopped), 1 medium sweet onion (finely chopped), about 4 oz of baby bella mushrooms (finely chopped), 4 eggs, and 1 small head of cauliflower (shredded with a cheese grater). It made a huge meatloaf. Then I topped the meatloaf with thick-sliced bacon and cooked it to death. I’m usually really good about not overcooking meat – but I had an aneurysm or something. It was so big that the middle was still rare and the outsides were dried out. Also, all that yummy bacon grease just ran off into the pan. So – here’s how I would do it next time. If I need this much again – I’ll use 2 pans and make 2 smaller meatloaves that will cook more evenly. I’d cut out an egg and add some tomato puree (not a ton – just 1/2- 3/4 cup). It should give it a little more flavor and help to retain some moisture. I’d also dice up the bacon and mix it into the meatloaf and then maybe top with just a strip or 2 instead of “wrapping”. Then, I would try not to cook the shit out of it.

Ok, so overall, dinner wasn’t too bad. 6 of us ate, and we had 1 portion of potatoes and asparagus left over, and a pretty good chunk of meatloaf (but Rob and Woody ate Rob’s special meatloaf). Point being, unless you’re feeding 6-8 people, this is going to leave a lot of leftovers, so I would probably cut it in half. Or, have leftovers and you can have meatloaf sandwiches for lunch, with no bread.

New Challenge Goal: I’ve got the guys eating some paleo food on the first night, lets see if I can get them to cook me some by the end of the 6 weeks….

One Response to “Oh Balls….”

  1. Grenade launcher #1 February 23, 2013 at 19:14 #

    It would appear you forgot to add the BBQ potato chips to the meatloaf. FYI 5 of us once Killed a 3 pound loaf.

Leave a Reply

